Sign In Sign Out

How do I erase data on an old phone before recycling?

If you are going to sell or recycle an old phone, you will first want to completely erase any personal data. This procedure will differ per phone, but here are our general recommendations.

This process will delete all data from your device(s), so be prepared to lose any and all information before proceeding.

For Android devices:

Go to System Settings -> Backup & Reset -> Factory Data Reset -> Scroll down and select "Erase Phone Storage" -> Press the "Reset Phone" button. Your phone will restart and erase all content. 

For Apple iOS devices:

Go to Settings -> General -> Reset -> Erase All Content and Settings. 

 

Keep in mind this process is not a professional-level data erasure. Our recycling partner, Teqcycle, professionally deletes all the data on every phone they receive, but other recycling providers may not, so it is helpful to confirm with them on their data erasure procedure.

Have more questions? Submit a request